Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association

About Us

Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association, founded in 1923, is a trade association exclusively representing all sectors of the oil and gas industry operating in Louisiana and the Gulf of Mexico.

LMOGA serves exploration and production, refining, transportation, marketing and mid-stream companies as well as other firms in the fields of law, engineering, environment, financing and government relations.

LMOGA’s mission is to promote and represent the oil and gas industry operating in Louisiana and the Gulf of Mexico by extending representation of our members to the Louisiana Legislature, state and federal regulatory agencies, the Louisiana congressional delegation, the media and the general public.

History of LMOGA

On October 13, 1917, shortly after the United States entry into World War I, a group of independent oil men met in Tulsa, Okla., to organize the Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association. One of the primary reasons behind the establishment of the association was to provide essential supplies of petroleum and petroleum products to the armed forces of the U.S. and its allies.

In 1919, the association was reorganized into a federation. Under the new plan the General Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association, which eventually became the National Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association, was created and assigned control and supervision of the activities that were general in nature and of national importance. Subsequently, two local divisions were created. The first, the Kansas-Oklahoma division, was headquartered in Tulsa, Okla., and the second, the Texas-Louisiana division, headquartered in Dallas, Texas.

In December 1922, members of the association located in Arkansas and Louisiana petitioned to form the new Louisiana-Arkansas division to be located in Shreveport, La. Then, in the early 1950s, the offices were moved to Baton Rouge. The association was housed in three different locations before moving to 801 North Boulevard in 1991 where it remained for 18 years. In April of 2009, the association moved to its current location the, “Old Standard Oil House,” at 730 North Boulevard.

In 1971 the Louisiana-Arkansas Division merged with the Louisiana Petroleum Council. Soon after, it was decided that separate organizations were needed in Louisiana and Arkansas. The Arkansas Petroleum Council took over Mid-Continent functions in Arkansas, leaving the surviving Mid-Continent division to serve Louisiana.

On September 12, 1973, the organization’s name was changed to Louisiana Division of Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association. Over time, the association became known as Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil and Gas Association.

Past Chairmen

Clyde M. Bennet, Louisiana Oil & Refining Corporation, 1923

J.R. Munce, Arkansas Natural Gas Corporation, 1924

George O. Baird, Geo O. Baird Inc., 1924-1927

M.J. Grogan, Grogan & Marshall, 1928-1929

C.R. Minor, Gulf Refining Company, 1930

F. Ray McGrew, Standard Pipe Line Company, 1931-1932

J.R. Crawford, Crawford & Pevetoe, 1933-1935

D.W. Harris, Arkansas Oil Corporation, 1936

L.W. Moffitt, Triangle Drilling Company, 1937-1940

C.H. Lyons, Sr., Lyons & Prentiss, 1941-1942

A.H. Tarver, Independent, 1943-1945

A.R. Carmody, The North Central Oil Corporation, 1946-1952

C.H. Murphy, Jr., Murphy Corporation, 1953-1954

L. Lee Welch, Vincent & Welch, 1955-1956

A. H. Weyland, Arkansas-Louisiana Gas Company, 1957-1958

Bouwe Dykstra, Shell Oil Company, 1959-1960

N.H. Wheless, Jr., Wheless Drilling Company, 1961-1962

Kenneth H. Shaffer, The California Company, 1963-1964

J.B. Storey, Southdown Burmah Oil Company, 1965-1966

L.C. Adams, Pan American Petroleum Corporation, 1967-1968

Alden J. Laborde, Ocean Drilling & Exploration Company, 1969-1970

Robert Flaherty, Atlantic Richfield Company, 1971-1972

John G. Phillips, Louisiana Land & Exploration Company, 1973-1974

Richard S. Tremaine, Amoco Production Company, 1975-1976

John F. Bicker, Boo-Ker Oil & Gas Corporation, 1977-1978

A.C. Garner, Jr., Exxon Company, USA, 1979-1980

Robert L. Goodwin, Exchange Oil & Gas Corporation, 1981-1982

B.S. Flowers, Shell Offshore, Inc., 1983-1984

Hugh J. Kelly, Ocean Drilling & Exploration Company, 1985-1986

R.E. McGannon, Chevron USA, Inc., 1987

M.E. Foster, Exxon Company, USA, 1987

Ray E. Galvin, Chevron USA, Inc. 1987-1988

H. Leighton Steward, Louisiana Land & Exploration Company, 1989-1990

Robert L. Howard, Shell Offshore, Inc., 1991-1992

J.F. Justiss, Jr., Justiss Oil Company, Inc., 1993-1996

W.R. “Bob” Herrin, Chevron USA Production Company, 1997-1998

Robert S. Lane, Texaco Exploration & Production Companu, 1998-2000

William H. Easter, III, ConocoPhilips, 2001-2002

Douglas J. Lanier, Chevron, 2003-2004

J.F. Justiss, Jr., Justiss Oil Company, Inc., 2004-2008

Gary Fuller, Placid Refining Company, 2008

Karl Connor (Elected Vice-Chairman), BP America, Inc., 2008

Frank Glaviano, Sr., Shell Energy Resources Company, 2008-2009

James Hutchison, Sr., Plains Exploration & Production Company, 2010-2017

John Hollowell, Shell Midstream Partners, 2017 - 2018

Fred Palmer, Shell Oil Company, 2018 - 2019

Gloria Moncada, ExxonMobil Baton Rouge, 2019 - present

Past Presidents

Joseph B. Elam –  1922 to 1934

Arthur B. Campbell1934 to 1946

Sam S. Caldwell1946 to 1953

Charlie S. Wilkins1953 to 1964

Robert R. Brooksher1964 to 1989

B. Jim Porter1989 to 2007

Chris C. John2007 to 2018

Tyler Gray 2019 to present


Close Resources